A Resolution from the Faculty: Dean J. Paul Rajashekar

A Resolution from the Faculty: Dean J. Paul Rajashekar

To mark the conclusion of the long, distinguished, and fruitful tenure of J. Paul Rajashekar as leader of the Faculty and Academic Dean of The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia, his grateful colleagues on the faculty:

The Rev. Dr. J. Paul RajashekarCommend Dean Rajashekar for his selfless service to the seminary and for the exemplary manner in which he has fulfilled his duties as Dean of this institution;

Celebrate his steady, tireless, and often unrecognized efforts on behalf of students and colleagues in the day-to-day operation of the seminary;

Acknowledge with pride the distinction he has brought to the seminary through his academic work and service to the broader church, embodying what it means to be a churchman;

Appreciate the dignity, graciousness, and often drool humor with which he has spoken for the seminary and performed its ceremonial functions;

Recognize his initiative and direction in leading the seminary into service in a changing church through revision of the curriculum and renewal of the faculty with emphasis on the broad cultural diversity of the church and the requirement for church leaders to recognize their calling to public ministry, through specific programs in Multi-cultural and Hispanic Ministry, through continued support for an evolving Urban Theological Institute, through backing for a new degree in Public Leadership, through the development of new opportunities for ecumenical participation in the seminary, through the Anglican and Methodist programs, and for greater interfaith dialogue through new initiatives such as the Asian Theological Summer Institute, through careful guidance of faculty searches;

Appreciate the rapport he has established with students through his teaching and pastoral actions on their behalf as well as the cordial relations he has maintained with alumni and the broader community that surrounds the seminary. 

The Faculty of The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia, at its regular meeting on June 7, 2012, resolves that Dean J. Paul Rajashekar enjoys the deep respect and profound appreciation of the colleagues he has served so well for twelve years. Well done, good and faithful servant.

The LTSP Faculty, May 2012

The LTSP Faculty at Commencement, May 18, 2012
back row: The Rev. Dr. Storm Swain, The Rev. Dr. Charles Leonard, The Rev. Dr. David Grafton, Dr. Jon Pahl,
The Rev. Dr. Wil Gafney, The Rev. Dr. Richard Stewart, The Rev. Dr. Nelson Rivera, The Rev. Dr. Karyn Wiseman,
The Rev. Dr. Karl Krueger, Dr. Erik Heen
front row: The Rev. Dr. Robin Mattison, The Rev. Dr. Robert Robinson, The Rev. Dr. Katie Day,
The Rev. Dr. J. Paul Rajashekar, The Rev. Dr. Philip Krey president, The Rev. Dr. J. Jayakiran Sebastian,
The Rev. Dr. Timothy Wengert, The Rev. Dr. Robert Hughes emeritus

right click (Ctrl-click on a Mac) to download a high resolution version of the faculty photo

| Meet incoming Dean J. Jayakiran Sebastian |